The Different Types of Kava: Exploring Noble and Non-Noble Kava Varieties

non-noble kava

Kava is a fascinating plant steeped in history and tradition. Revered by many Pacific Island cultures, its roots are used to create a ceremonial beverage known for its calming effect. With an array of varieties, understanding the difference between Noble and Non-Noble Kava can be a complex task. In this article, we aim to delve into the intricacies of these Kava types, providing a comprehensive understanding of their origins, characteristics, and uses.


An Introduction to Kava

Kava, scientifically known as Piper methysticum, is a crop native to the South Pacific islands. It has been used for centuries in traditional ceremonies to promote relaxation, social bonding, and spiritual connection. The plant’s roots are typically used to prepare a beverage noted for its unique numbing effect on the tongue and lips. The Kava plant comprises over 200 known varieties, each with distinct profiles and effects.


Understanding Noble and Non-Noble Kava

Kava varieties can be broadly divided into two categories: Noble and Non-Noble (also known as Tudei or “two-day” kava). These terms are not based on the superiority of one over the other but refer to the usage and effects of the Kava types.

Noble Kava is the traditional variety used in the Pacific Islands for daily consumption and ceremonial purposes. It is highly valued for its balanced effects, producing a gentle sense of relaxation without causing significant impairment or negative side effects.

On the other hand, Non-Noble Kava, specifically the Tudei varieties, are traditionally used for medicinal or ceremonial purposes. Their effects are more potent and longer-lasting, hence the term “two-day” kava. These varieties are not typically used for regular consumption due to their strong effects and potential for unpleasant side effects.


Origins and Varieties of Noble Kava

Noble Kava varieties originate from several Pacific Island nations, each with its unique characteristics:

  1. Vanuatu: Vanuatu is often hailed as the “home of kava,” with the most extensive selection of Kava varieties worldwide. Some popular Noble varieties include Borogu, Borongoru, and Melo Melo. These varieties are known for their balanced effects and pleasing flavors.
  2. Fiji: Fijian Kava is known for its potent effects and strong, peppery flavor. Notable varieties include Loa Waka and Kadavu.
  3. Tonga: Tongan Kava, such as the Fulufulu ‘Ahononou and the Tongan Family Reserve, is praised for its uplifting effect. It has a smoother taste compared to other varieties, making it a favorite among Kava enthusiasts.
  4. Hawaii: Hawaiian Kava, or ‘Awa, such as the Mahakea and Mo’i varieties, is cherished for its potency and unique flavor profile. Hawaiian Kava is often used in traditional Hawaiian ceremonies.


Non-Noble Kava: Its Origins and Varieties

Non-Noble Kava, specifically the Tudei varieties, is less commonly consumed due to its potent effects and potential for side effects. However, it does have its place in traditional medicine and ceremonies. Its origins are primarily in two regions:

  1. Vanuatu: The island of Vanuatu also hosts some Non-Noble Kava varieties, primarily the Tudei Kava. This Kava type is potent and long-lasting, hence the name Tudei, which means “two days” in Bislama, the local language.
  2. Papua New Guinea: Papua New Guinea is home to a variety of Non-Noble Kavas. These varieties are typically used for medicinal purposes, given their potent effects and unique chemotype profiles.


Chemotype: The Unique Chemical Fingerprint of Kava

The chemotype of a Kava variety refers to the specific arrangement of kavalactones within it. Kavalactones are the active compounds that produce the effects of Kava. There are six main kavalactones in Kava, each with unique effects on the body. The sequence of these kavalactones in a Kava variety determines its chemotype and, consequently, its effects.

For instance, Noble Kava typically has a chemotype that begins with the kavalactones kavain (K) and dihydrokavain (DHK), which are known for their relaxing and uplifting effects. Conversely, Non-Noble Kava, such as Tudei varieties, often have a chemotype starting with dihydromethysticin (DHM), leading to more potent and long-lasting effects.


The Role of Kavalactones in Kava

Kavalactones are the heart of Kava’s effects, with each Kava variety hosting a unique blend of these compounds. Here is a brief overview of the six primary kavalactones:

Kavain (K): This kavalactone is known for promoting relaxation and a sense of well-being. It is often dominant in Noble Kava varieties.

Dihydrokavain (DHK): DHK also contributes to the relaxing effects of Kava, and it often complements Kavain in Noble Kava chemotypes.

Methysticin (M): This kavalactone has been studied for its potential neuroprotective properties.

Dihydromethysticin (DHM): Often dominant in Tudei Kava, DHM contributes to the potent and long-lasting effects of these varieties.

Yangonin (Y): Yangonin is believed to interact with the same brain receptors as THC.

Desmethoxyyangonin (DMY): This kavalactone is known for its potential mood-lifting effects.


Comparing the Effects of Noble and Non-Noble Kava

While both Noble and Non-Noble Kava offer unique experiences, they differ significantly in their effects:

Noble Kava is characterized by its balanced effects, offering a gentle sense of relaxation and well-being without causing significant impairment. Its effects are typically short-lived, allowing for regular consumption without the risk of unpleasant side effects.

Non-Noble Kava, particularly the Tudei varieties, has more potent and long-lasting effects. Consumption can lead to deep sedation and lethargy that may last up to two days, hence the name “two-day” Kava. Due to these effects, Non-Noble Kava is not recommended for regular consumption and is generally reserved for medicinal or ceremonial use.


How to Choose the Right Kava for You

Choosing the right Kava depends on your individual needs and preferences. Here are some factors to consider:

Purpose: If you’re looking for a gentle, relaxing experience to enjoy regularly, Noble Kava is likely the best choice. If you’re seeking a more potent, medicinal variety for occasional use, Non-Noble Kava may be appropriate.

Potency: Consider your tolerance and desired intensity of effects. Noble Kava is milder and may be more suitable for beginners, while Non-Noble Kava is more potent.

Origin: The origin of the Kava can also affect its taste and effects. For instance, Fijian Kava is known for its strong, peppery flavor, while Tongan Kava has a smoother taste.

Quality: Always choose high-quality, lab-tested Kava from reputable sources. This ensures that the Kava is safe, effective, and free from contaminants.

Understanding the difference between Noble and Non-Noble Kava is crucial for a safe and enjoyable Kava experience. By appreciating the unique characteristics of each variety, you can make an informed choice that aligns with your individual needs and preferences.


We hope this article has provided a comprehensive understanding of the diverse world of Kava. As we continue to explore this fascinating plant and its uses, we reaffirm the importance of honoring its deep cultural roots and promoting responsible use.

Whether you’re a longtime Kava enthusiast or a curious newcomer, we invite you to join us on this journey of discovery and to experience the rich tradition and soothing effects of this remarkable plant. 

Our Selection of Kava products at Herb Stomp provides you with many options to experience kava; please feel free to reach out to us with any questions you may have.